//
you're reading...
Albums, Pop, Rock

Blondes Have More Fun – Rod Stewart

Aw crap! I pulled a Rod Stewart album. All these wonderful records up on the shelf and I stop on a whammy. It’s like going out for ice cream and coming home with syphilis. I just plum don’t like the man.

Blondes Have More Fun - Front

Blondes Have More Fun...

At any rate, I do have a job to do so let’s get on with it. The album is Blondes Have More Fun from 1978. It contains his hit single “Do Ya Think I’m Sexy?” (Hint: No.)

Or Do They?

Or Do They...? I don't know - shut up, Rod!

Okay, right away we’re off to a bad start and I didn’t even put the needle to the wax yet. The list of tracks on the back cover do not, in any way, correspond to the actual track order. And to make it even more confusing, he labeled the record “Side One” and “Side One Continued”. Clever… Ass. Making note of what song I was hearing by trying to read text spinning at  33-1/3 revolutions per minute gave me a headache – yet another reason to hate Rod Stewart.

Blondes Have More Fun Label - Side 1 Continued

Side 1 Continued? Shut Up, Rod!

“Do Ya Think I’m Sexy?” kicks things off with its hybrid of rock and disco. It’s infectious as all hell. I whistle the melody at work almost all the time to the chagrin of my colleagues. The only negative? It’s a Rod Stewart song.

I play through some more songs. “Dirty Weekend” is a fine little bluesy number and “Ain’t Love a Bitch” is catchy. “The Best Day of My Life” can darn well be my wedding song, it’s really beautiful and I’m not even minding Rod so much with this one. I play some more songs: “Is That The Thanks I Get?”, “Attractive Female Wanted”, the title track… all the way to the end. I find that they’re all strong, highly listenable and, dare I say, enjoyable.

Damn! This album is actually… ugh… good.

Blondes Have More Fun Gatefold

Wipe that grin off your face, Rod.

This is probably why I dislike Rod Stewart so much. You want to hate on him for a voice that gives children nightmares and adults spastic colons. But then you find yourself really getting into one of his songs and you realize Rod just made your ears his bitch. As much as it pains me to say it, I really liked this record.

You win this round, Stewart…

About DaveMMR

An avid collector of vinyl records and old video games, and a sometimes fan of talking about same.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Energized – Foghat « The Vinyl Listening Project - August 17, 2011

Comment on this post. Please keep topical.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

Categories

Archives

