//
you're reading...
Albums, New Wave, Rock

Panorama – The Cars

Panorama, released in 1980, was the Cars third album. Going for a more “experimental” sound, the album met with some mixed reviews but nonetheless sold quite well. Personally, it wouldn’t be the Cars album I would start with. But it’s what I was assigned. So off we go…

Panorama Cover

With this album, the Cars definitely did take a giant step back – with the cover art, at least. Go look up the covers for their self-titled debut and Candy-O. Pretty girl, visually appealing. Now look again at Panorama’s cover. Just a checkered flag – no girls, no cars. Trying something different is understandable but again… it’s just a flag.

But enough blustering about the cover, how about the music? Well I found the songs to straddle between “really good” and “okay, but tedious”. So while none of the them had me rolling my eyes, and ultimately I may get used to some of the weaker tracks with subsequent listens, I did find myself getting a bit bored at times.

Panorama Back Cover

Of the ten tracks, four of them would make it into my “Ultimate Cars Playlist”, if and when I ever make one. “Panorama”, the opening track, is an amusing bit of ‘laid back insanity’ with the computerized beat and robotic vocals – instantly fun.  “Touch and Go”, the album’s lone single, sounds fine with its brooding synth that kicks into a jaunty pluck and twang. Equally enjoyable was “You Wear Those Eyes” with lyrics describing an unhealthy love obsession song against a bed of hauntingly beautiful electronic melodies. Finally, the upbeat pop sounds of “Running To You” was playful and catchy. Why it wasn’t released as a single is baffling.

Panorama Inside PhotoThe other entries, such as “Gimme Some Slack”, “Don’t Tell Me No” and “Getting Through” are interesting enough to warrant a listen but proved forgettable. And by the time I finished “Misfit Kid”, “Down Boys” and “Up and Down”, I began to think The Cars were listening to too much Devo. Not quite an imitation but definitely heard some strong inspiration.

Panorama Label

Like the reviews, I was “mixed” on this album as well. It’s an essential part of their catalog, no doubt, but a few too many ‘throwaways’ precludes it from making any of my ‘desert island’ lists. Yet, I’d hate to give up the handful of songs I love, so if it stowed itself away in my luggage for my trip to some remote sandy shore, I wouldn’t be too upset.

About DaveMMR

An avid collector of vinyl records and old video games, and a sometimes fan of talking about same.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Comment on this post. Please keep topical.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

Categories

Archives

